Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Stop Three: Montreal, Quebec.

Tuesday, August 18. Train to from Toronto Union Station to Montreal. The end of vacation, and the start of an adventure.

Yups, so by VIA Rail, it took more than 4 hours, and I think it was actually longer than my plane flight from Vancouver to Toronto. Ehh?
So I could already feel Montreal's ambiance on the train, with the mix of French, English, and Franglais. You heard me. REAL Franglais. It came from two ladies sitting right behind me; I thought they were coming from different people, but no, after so long listening to them, I was sure it was them speaking French with injections of fluent English in between.

We arrived, finally, at the Gare Centrale de Montreal, and took a taxi to another Hyatt Regency Hotel! Hahaha. Another thing that leaps out at you when you're in Montreal: the crazy driving. I swear, it's vehicles before people. JYT and I had become quite fearless in jaywalking while in Trois-Rivieres, yeah? The taxi started off with a great long lurch out of the parkway, and for the whole ride the driver didn't have his seatbelt on. No one was hurt though. The Hyatt was located perfectly, part of the Complexe Desjardins, which is like a shopping complex located in the underground city. So, I don't even have to step outside to get from the hotel room to the underground city (where there's IGA, food court), right to the Métro, then anywhere I want to go! So, super convenient.

J'explore Montreal, bye!~

No comments:

Post a Comment